From 1st July the Council of Mortgage Lenders is integrated into a new trade association, UK Finance. For the time being, all UKF mortgage information will continue to be published on this website, and UKF member-only mortgage information will only be available here.

UK Finance represents around 300 firms in the UK providing credit, banking, markets and payment-related services. The new organisation takes on most of the activities previously carried out by the Asset Based Finance Association, the British Bankers’ Association, the Council of Mortgage Lenders, Financial Fraud Action UK, Payments UK and the UK Cards Association. Please go to for wider content and updates from UK Finance.

  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Week in Westminster
  4. General election: the winners and the losers

General election: the winners and the losers

Week in Westminster

Published: 9 June 2017 | Author: Michelle Vosper

So Theresa May’s General Election gamble has backfired and we now face a hung parliament. 

Despite seeing their vote share rise, the loss of Conservatives seats in England and Wales to Labour and the Liberal Democrats have resulted in no party winning a majority.

Conservative                  316 seats (-12)
Labour                           261 seats (+29)
Scottish National            35 seas (-21)
Liberal Democrat           12 seats (+4)
Democratic Unionists     10 seas (+2)
Other                              13 seats (-2)

In a speech in front of No 10, Theresa May confirmed she would form and lead a new government with the support of the Northern Irish Democratic Unionist Party. Mrs May said the government will focus on Brexit and cracking down on extremism.

The DUP’s manifesto does not include any pledges or commitments on housing policy. But the party does pledge to establish a Northern Ireland Infrastructure Fund, and would support UK wide tax policy improvements to encourage economic growth.

The Election resulted in the loss of 10 ministers. Most notably the former housing minister Gavin Barwell, and the former economic secretary Simon Kirby. Ben Gummer, the MP behind the Tory manifesto, also lost his seat.

The Liberal Democrat Nick Clegg failed to get re-elected, while the Scottish National Party sees the loss of its Angus Robertson (SNP deputy leader), Alex Salmond, and Eilidh Whiteford (work and pensions spokesperson, and also a regular contributor in housing debates).

On the flip side, some ‘old’ faces will return to Parliament: Zac Goldsmith (Con) (Richmond Park); Esther McVey (Con) (Tatton); Vince Cable (LibDem) (Twickenham); Ed Davey (Lib Dem) (Kingston & Surbiton); and Jo Swinson (LibDem) (Dunbartonshire East).

It has been reported that the prime minister may start appointing senior cabinet positions later today.